

NOTICE ON GROUP EXEMPTION APPLICATIONS

EXEMPTION APPLICATIONS NOTICE 01 OF 2023: REINSTATEMENT OF THE PROVISIONS

RELATING TO GROUP REPORTING EXEMPTIONS AS CONTAINED IN THE AMENDED

FINANCIAL SECTOR CODE

The Financial Sector Transformation Council constituencies (Council) have, due to legal

challenges, reconsidered the previous decision to withdraw the group reporting

exemptions provision and the Group Reporting Guidance Note GN000(a), and at a special

sitting of the Council held on 13 June 2023, resolved to reinstate the group reporting

exemptions provision as provided for in the Financial Sector Code (FS Code) and the Group

Reporting Guidance Note GN000(a).

In this regards, measured entities are hereby invited to submit applications for group

reporting for consideration by the FSTC as provided for in the FS Code, FS000 paragraph

8.4.

Applications should be directed to exemptions@fstc.org.za.

As enshrined in the FS Code, it is the responsibility of the FSTC to ensure that group

reporting does not hinder the realistic measurement of the pace of transformation for

each of the various industries within the sector, and as such each application will be

reviewed carefully based on its merit.

For any questions or further clarification, please contact us at 011 838 6966 or

exemptions@fstc.org.za.

Issued by the FSTC Secretariat

30 June 2023

COUNCIL MEMBERS

GOVERNMENT: Njabulo Sithebe (Chairperson), Alvinah Thela, Jacob Maphutha. COMMUNITY: Solly Mapaila, Tebello Radebe. ABSIP: Langa Madonko, Fatima Vawda.

LABOUR: Moses Lekota, Jan Mahlangu. TRADE ASSOCIATIONS: Bongi Kunene, Busisa Jiya, Viviene Pearson, Butsi Tladi, Ann-Marie D'Alton, Vuyo Lee.

DIRECTORS

Langa Madonko (Chairperson), Pumla Ncapayi (CEO), Thabo Tlaba-Mokoena, Tebello Radebe, Viviene Pearson, Sipho Solfafa, Nontobeko Lubisi, Jan Mahlangu, Lizelle van der Merwe, Vuyo Lee.

The Financial Sector Transformation Council Reg No 2006/006846/08